Liberian Rice Bread

Okay, cream of wheat I know. It was one of my favorite hot cereals growing up, and I would happily eat a bowl of it right now.

But what is cream of rice cereal?? If you find it, tell me, please, so that we can make this cake-like bread together. In fact, I’m thinking this is something our little ones can make mostly alone while we sit very nearby and supervise.

First we need to find cream of rice cereal. Hm.

Liberian Rice Bread

2 cups cream of rice cereal

4 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon nutmeg

3 cups mashed bananas or plantains

1 cup water

½ cup vegetable oil

1. Preheat the oven to 400 °F / 204 °C.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. In another bowl, mix together the wet ingredients, including the bananas or plantains.

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, stirring until the mixture is smooth.

4. Pour the batter into a round or square cake pan. Bake 30-45 minutes or until the top is lightly browned. When a toothpick is inserted and then comes out dry and clean, the bread is done.

5. Serve hot with butter or margarine or at room temperature. Have your favorite hot or cold drink ready. Apple cider would be great.

5 Responses

  1. My mom used to make something called “cream of rice cereal” but basically it was leftover rice removed from the electric cooker and plopped into a saucepan, heated with milk, brown sugar, raisins and cinnamon. I loved it. But no Japanese can fathom the thought of sweet rice in the morning.

  2. Wait a second…Tony, that’s *exactly* how I’ve been eating my brown rice for breakfast lately, because I’ve been too lazy to buy oatmeal or other hot cereals! Love it!

  3. cream of rice is exactly like cream of wheat…. excpt different. 8D

  4. You can find cream of rice in the same aisle you’ll find cream of wheat, actually the two should be side by side. Hint: It made be labled as Cream of Arroz. Arroz being the spanish name for rice. You can also add of the time ginger is added for a little spice, replace water with evaporated mailk and oil with butter for a more rich taste!

    A little late but I hope this helps:)
    Georgette

  5. @Georgette: Huge thanks for the tip! I don’t think I’ve seen cream of arroz here in Japan, but what do I know, I had no idea to look for it.

    I checked out your website, and I’m so loving those earrings! I think I’m going to have to get me some! Everybody else, go look, too!

    Hi to Atlanta for me!

Hi!

