It’s Tickle Time!

I praise and encourage my 3- and 4-year-olds with high fives. For every high five, I send them galloping back to mom or dad to get a great big hug.

Just once today and with no planning, I told the kids to get a great big tickle from mom or dad.

Tickle, tickle, tickle!

Enormous piles of giggles everywhere.

Before and after the tickling, we worked on colors, the b…b…b…bus! sound, numbers, our own names, and body parts. We read a story and talked about today’s suddenly stormy weather (ゆうだち – yudachi – know what that is?).

It had been a busy lesson.

As they put on their shoes to go home, I heard them saying,”Tikko, tikko, tikko!”

Yeah well okay if that’s all they’re going to remember from the lesson, then the next time I’m going to make them spell it first.

******

Yes, I’m very aware of this Virginia-based school banning hugs and high fives between students. I don’t know how I would have gotten through school had my friends and I not been allowed to hug each other.

Yeeps.

