Rachel, Laura, Fireese and Sign Language

For those of you curious about sign language for babies and kids of all shapes, sizes and skills, add these two sites to your reading list: Rachel Coleman’s Signing Time blog and Laura Berg’s My Smart Hands site.

I had planned to get many things done today between classes.

Instead, I kept reading more and more about Signing Time, which took me to Signing Time co-founder Rachel Coleman’s blog. She writes beautifully, sharing her life stories including many about her profoundly deaf daughter, Leah, who was the inspiration behind Signing Times.

Late in the day, when I should have been cleaning up the classroom, I followed a link from Rachel’s blog to learn about Laura Berg and her daughter, Fireese. Fireese’s hearing is fine, but Laura has been teaching her signs from an early age.

Laura Berg was recently (2008) named winner of the Ontario Regional Mom Entrepreneur of the Year and her site, My Smart Hands, is one of the top five companies in Canada.

Want to see what little Fireese could sign when she was only a year old? Click here and scroll a bit down.

Below, Fireese shows off her sign name. Awwwww……


(I keep typing singing time instead of signing time. Oh, but singing time is a great idea, too!)