The Spooky Wheels on the Bus

Please oh please add The Spooky Wheels on the Bus to your pile of Halloween books to read! I’ve been reading it for the past month to my classes, and it just keeps getting better and better.

With apologies to author J. Elizabeth Mills, the story isn’t nearly as spooky as the title suggests. But this is good! You want non-spooky! It’s a highly entertaining book, and you’ll have everyone paying attention the moment you open your mouth and start singing.

Yes, please sing.

The youngest ones will start singing along and naming the various passengers on the bus. Your counting toddlers will love counting the passengers (find that 8th witch for me, please…), and your older kids will spot piles of quirky little details you will miss if you tend to read books upside down. Illustrator Ben Mantle keeps things busy but never cluttered on a page.

Here: take a peek, see what I mean? Now run to get your own copy! Hurry!

2 Responses

  1. Greetings, I’m the author of THE SPOOKY WHEELS ON THE BUS, and I wanted to thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. I love your enthusiasm for the book. Thank you again, your words mean so much to me.

    Happy Halloween!

    Liz Mills

    • Wheeeeeeeee! I’m thrilled to pieces because you wrote! I really really really do like The Spooky Wheels on the Bus, and so do my students! I’ve also since looked at your other work, not realizing you wrote those “The Everything Kids'” books, which I’ve also been working my way through. Please keep up the fantastic work!

      Happy Halloween to you, too!

Hi!

