To run or not to run: Earthquake do’s and don’ts

You know that checklist of earthquake Do’s and Don’ts?

I’m here to admit that yesterday I did almost every single Don’t, while my Japanese friends and children did all of the Do’s. I wasn’t the first one out the door when the shaking began, but I was embarrassingly good at racing to be Number One.

  • Do not rush outside in a panic as there may be falling objects.
  • Do not move until the main quake ceases.
  • Do not become panicked by aftershocks.

Yes, thankfully in my area we’re all alive to marvel at our differing approaches. Or rather, I marvel at my friends and I worry about my instincts versus theirs.

Off I go to check my survival kit.

Hi!

