Oh hey before you throw away those empty boxes

When I lived in the Netherlands, one of my most favorite winter evening activities was to walk through neighborhoods to glimpse how people decorated their homes. Evenings start annoyingly early in winter there, but curtains often don’t close for a few more hours.

One of my least favorite activities is moving homes. Boxes everywhere, frustrated bewilderment at all the stuff not fitting into those boxes.

I unpack as much as I can, now bewildered at where all the stuff will go, and I toss the empty boxes out as quickly as I can.

Never ever ever not once in a bazillion moves would it have occurred to me to carve the empty moving boxes into window decorations for the evening.

Brilliant.

Hi!

