Clydesdales in the circle

Some children don’t want to hold hands when we make a circle. Hold hands with a stranger? Eeeeek!

Some children are fine with holding hands. It’s getting their feet to move as fast as the song that can pose a challenge or three.

Some children adore holding hands and they pull like Clydesdale horses on a sleigh. Horses are cool, yes, but here’s my discovery to tame some of this mad pulling.

Turn around and face outward.

That’s right, face outward, hold hands, and sing your happy song as usual. Try it.

I hope you have the same success I’ve had!

[Arigato!]

3 Responses

  1. Great idea! Some kids also like to be go limp and be dragged like a sack of potatoes. I’m not sure what to do, so I usually let go of their hands and we finish the song not holding hands. Any advice?

    • Let’s see…. I know you’ve demonstrated what you want to happen. And I know you’ve praised furiously when things go well, stopping when they don’t, yes? And you’ve tried crossing arms, too, right?
      Hmmm…. Have you tried cancelling the whole hand-holding excitement from the very beginning of the song? Just don’t hold hands for a few lessons.
      Gallop back to let me know if that doesn’t work, and I’ll dig some more through my bag here.

  2. Give it a try. Thanks.

Hi!

