Handy ABCs in your hands

Use the palm of your hand to teach ABC stroke orders.

Years ago, when I taught high school here in Japan, I noticed how nearly everyone used their palms as scratch pads. They’d confirm how to write kanji, work out math problems, and draw simple where-to-meet maps. No pens involved.

I wanted to teach my young learners the same efficiency, but I worried they would get lost in the process if they couldn’t “see” each stroke in the palm of my hand. It turns out they can see just fine. It took about 2 seconds for them to start copying me.

Now, my young learners happily practice their ABCs in the palms of their hands, fixing mistakes as they go and starting to grasp the same-sizeness of letters.

Next, I’ll teach them how to say that their palms are amazing eco-friendly, washable, non-electric, non-branded, no-ads, glare-free, pocket-sized writing tablets.

Cheap, too.

Hi!

