Sophisticated Hats

It was snowing by the time I got to my station, and I was thoroughly embarrassed to be without an umbrella. Twelve years in this country will do that you.

So I dug around in my backpack and found the hat I’d stuffed in there. I shoved it on my head, and marched home, happily distracted by the big, clumpy snowflakes.

Not until I got home did I realize what I’d done: instead of donning a proper ladylike winter hat well-suited to a director of a private English conversation school in one of the most expensive cities in the world, I had put on my Halloween costume Doraemon hat and had been thrilled at how warm it was keeping my ears.

And that I hadn’t found embarrassing at all.

Twelve years in this country will do that to you.

Hi!

