Totto-chan, the Little Girl at the Window

When I lived in Nagoya and taught at the high school level, one of the teachers there gave me a small book called Totto-chan, the Little Girl at the Window.

I read it in about 3 train rides, and the story reminded me of my year as a Montessori school student in the Netherlands.

Which is why every year around this time, as parents nervously plot their children’s academic futures, I often find myself recommending either the book or a Montessori-style environment to anyone who will listen. I’ve long been inspired by the head master in Totto-chan, and I hope others will be, too.

Give yourself maybe two or three evenings before bedtime to read this little gem.

Then, check the book’s due date, because you’re going to need to get it back from your friends before the library fines you.

Hi!

