Toddler’s Manual, no. Toddler’s Creed, yes.

The parent of one of my 3-year-olds was fretting about her child’s behavior in class.

I’d noticed his behavior, too, but it wasn’t anything I had gotten around to being worried about.

He was 3 years old and doing a remarkably good job at being 3 years old. What else was there to do?

******

The Toddler’s Creed (Author unknown)

If I want it, it’s mine.
If I give it to you and change my mind later, it’s mine.
If I can take it away from you, it’s mine.
If I had it a little while ago, it’s mine.
If it’s mine, it will never belong to anybody else, no matter what.
If we are building something together, all the pieces are mine.
If it looks just like mine, it is mine.

******

That toddler? He’s 11 years old now, still taking lessons with us, and I simply love to pieces how amazingly kind, funny, mature, and independent he’s become.

2 Responses

  1. It’s comforting to know they will grow out of that phase. My son Julian is in the ” I’m number one” phase now. I hope that phase ends soon.

    • Comforting to know, yes, but it’s maddening to remember when you’re smack in the middle of it, right? I can’t guarantee it, but I’ve met Julian’s parents, and I have a good feeling he’s also going to turn into a sweet young man! がんばってね!

Hi!

