I can’t think of a bite-sized blog post title to explain that I just finished teaching my last lesson ever at my school after nine years. Haaalp.

I only meant to be here for 2 years.

Now, I count 9 of my fingers, one for each year I’ve been teaching here in Tokyo.

I need 3 toes, too, one for each year I taught in Nagoya.

My remaining 7 toes equal the years between Nagoya and Tokyo, when I pretended I wasn’t interested in teaching.

My tenth finger is for the one month I now have left in Japan.

I don’t have nearly enough fingers and toes to count all the amazing loving wonderful students, families, teachers, and friends who have supported me and welcomed me into their lives over the past 9 years.

Thank you thank you thank you!

Whoooeee, okay, I need a big blueberry muffin and an even bigger hug now.

3 Responses

  1. I had to read this three times. Shock! I decided to go to the workshop in Shibuya on April 15th. I’ll give you a big hug then.

  2. […] Quick recap: after almost 9 years in Tokyo, it’s time for me to move on to my next adventure! As usual, I have my Plans A, B, and C of what I intend to do. Invariably I wind up choosing Plan D. Not sure what that will be yet. Suggestions? […]

Hi!

