Teacher, can I explain this to you?

Who: a group of international students, their group leaders, another teacher, Yours Truly

Where: San Diego Old Town historic district in that shop that sells stuff from Asia, mostly China

What was supposed to happen: I was supposed to be a tour guide and help students understand the history of that area, building by building if need be

What happened: I inadvertently switched roles with a student, who walked me through the shop and she explained just about everything to me, pausing only long enough to catch her breath and exclaim that she *loves* history.

The best part: I’d had no idea she could say all that in English.

Phenomenal!

And she wants to be a lawyer when she grows up, so she asked me to explain the courthouse information.

That little bit, yes, I could do.

Hi!

