The numbers on the scale go round and round (and up, down, up)

Creature of habit that I am, I usually weigh myself just before bedtime, checking to see whether I need to start cutting back on the jumbo blueberry muffins.

Creatures of curiosity that my younger nephew and niece are, they are very very good at finding the hidden bathroom scale and figuring out for themselves roughly what the scale does.

Last night I stepped on the scale and was alarmed that the blueberry muffin cutback program would have to start immediately: the scale indicated I had gained around 80 pounds/36 Kg in the past 24 hours.

It’s quite telling of my character that my first thought was about the muffins.

And that my second thought was a gleeful, “Well, don’t I still look good for all that weight gain!”

And that it took a good minute or more before I stepped off the scale, peered closely at the dial, and finally noticed that the starting point was not at zero but at 80.

Then I just grinned, found a new hiding place for the bathroom scale, and trotted off to bed.

EFL Clipart Gain weight

Hi!

