When four equals one: Shopping for dinnerware sets

I can count to four.

I know I can, because I’ve counted to four at least a kazillion times in my life.

My reading skills, however, are a bit fuzzy.

The other day, I had picked out a dinnerware set similar to the one pictured below and rushed home, delighted to have 2 sets  and thus enough to serve 8 people.

At home, I unpacked the first box, carefully counting each piece.

Yep, four pieces, just as it says on the box.

Wait.

Four pieces?

Four pieces. Not four persons.

The set was perfect for one person, not four people.

How had I missed that?!

Silly me.

Noritake Colorwave 4 piece Coupe Shaped Place Setting[Bed Bath & Beyond]

Hi!

