Bird Words

My grandma taught me that the whippoorwill bird says, “Whip Poor Will! Whip Poor Will!”, although I have to stretch my ears to hear it that way.

Red cardinals? I haven’t heard them in a few decades, although I think I could pick them out of the crowd. What do they say? Cardinals say, “What cheer cheer cheer! Chip, chip, birdy, birdy!”

But these birds?

Carolina Wren: Teakettle teakettle teakettle!

Barred Owl: Who cooks for you? Who cooks for you all?

Common nighthawk: Beans, beans, beans!

Clearly these birds are talking my language. Who knew?

For more of these, you have to scoot over to page 49 of Sharon Lovejoy’s Toad Cottages & Shooting Stars: A Grandma’s Bag of Tricks!

Drink your tea-ee-ee-ee!

Okay, you’re smart, who says that?

Sharon Lovejoy TC and SS

Hi!

